How to Block Someone on Instagram: Get Rid of People Who Bother You

Instagram is a popular platform for sharing photos and keeping in touch with your friends. But sometimes you need to distance yourself from some people on social media for your peace of mind. If you have ever thought to yourself, ‘how can I restrict the number of people who viewed my Instagram profile,’ and how to block someone on Instagram, then this article can help you.

Enhance Your Instagram Experience

Facebook’s Instagram is the happening place for the youth of today. It is where you can post your pictures, get hundreds of likes, and receive millions of comments. It is not just a social media platform but also has some very interesting and unique features such as IGTV and Instagram stories.

In spite of being a cool app, it can become a cause of anguish for some users. It is very easy to create an anonymous profile on Instagram without a mobile number, thus encouraging stalkers to create fake accounts and disturb other Insta users. However, to combat this problem, Instagram provides its users with the option to block any profile that they wish.

Around Android is dedicated to enhancing your Instagram experience by creating outstanding content for Android OS and educating you on how to block someone on Instagram. So if you are fed up with spam messages or do not want a particular person to view your profile, then you can simply block him. If you have any questions regarding Insta, then read on as this article will better acquaint you with the workings of Instagram.

How can you block unwanted profiles on Instagram

There are two ways to manage your Instagram account – either you can use the Instagram mobile app or a web browser. The web version of Instagram has limited features, and it is not possible to block a person by using it. However, you can block any undesirable account by using the Instagram Application. It is vital to note that the blocked person can mention you in his posts and stories, but you won’t be able to see it on your activity feed. If you do not want the person you have blocked to mention your username, then the best way is to change your username.

Steps For Blocking Someone Completely

Although Instagram is a pretty awesome app, it has its fair share of spambots and trolls. If you have also faced the same problem then you can follow the steps below that will help you block any Insta profile completely:

  1. Open the Instagram app on your mobile phone
  2. Search the profile that you wish to block
  3. On the right-hand corner of your screen, you will find three dots. Tap on these dots to see the options
  4. Tap on ‘Block’
  5. You will receive a pop-up on your screen for confirmation
  6. Confirm your action by clicking on ‘block’ again

By following these steps, you’ll be able to block the unwanted account successfully, and now that person will not be able to find your profile, story, or posts on Instagram. The person that you have blocked will not receive any notification regarding their status. But if at a later date you want to unblock these profiles, you can do so by going to their profile. After you have blocked so someone, you will still be able to see his earlier comments and likes on your profile; however, you will be able to delete any comments that they have posted.

How to Block Instagram Users from Only Commenting on Your Videos and Photos

If you just want to show a picture to a particular Insta user but do not want them to comment on it, then you don’t fully block them. This can be done with the help of the following steps:

  1. Open your Instagram app on your mobile phone
  2. Click on the ‘Profile’ option found at the bottom right corner of the app screen
  3. Click on the three parallel lines located at the top right corner of the app screen
  4. Click on ‘Settings’
  5. Search for the option of ‘Comment Controls’ as you scroll down
  6. Then click the option of ‘Block Comments from’
  7. Search the profile that you want to block
  8. Tap ‘Block’

By following these steps, you will effectively block that person from commenting on your posts, photos, and videos, but he will not receive any notification from Instagram when you block him. In case he makes any new comments to your posts, they will be visible only to him.

How Can You Block an Insta User by Using a Desktop?

Using the web browser to block someone on Instagram is very easy. If you do not have access to the Instagram app, you can do it via Instagram.com. by following the steps below:

  1. Search for the Insta-user profile that you want to block
  2. Next to the account name, you will see three horizontal dots. Click on them
  3. A pop-up window with several options appears. Click on the ‘Block this user’ option in the middle. Another window will pop-up asking for confirmation. Tap on ‘Block’ again
  4. You have effectively blocked someone on Instagram. Tap ‘Dismiss’ and return to Instagram

Other Effective Options Besides Blocking Someone

If you want a less severe action than blocking on Instagram, you can use the new feature that allows you to ‘Mute’ them. This way you will be able to see their stories only if you navigate to their profile as their posts will not appear in your newsfeed. The person you ‘Mute’ will also be able to view your content.

If I block a person on Instagram, will they know about it?

When you block someone, they will not be able to view your stories, posts, or profile, but they will not receive a notification informing them that you blocked them.

Is the block irreversible?

No, you can always ‘Unblock’ someone if you change your mind.

Will the person I blocked be able to mention me on Instagram?

Yes, it is possible; however, you will not know about it as you will not receive any notification in your Activity channel.

Can the profile I blocked still view the comments and likes I made on other posts?

Yes, if it is a public account or if that person also follows that particular account, it is possible for them to view your comments on other posts.

Will I still be able to view their likes and comments from my posts once I block them?

Yes, even if you block someone, you will still be able to view their comments and likes unless you delete them manually.

Will I be able to access their Instagram account once I block them?

You will be able to find their account if you search for it, but you will not be able to view any of their posts or stories.

Final thoughts

Instagram is a wonderful social media platform where users can share pictures, make interesting stories, or make sweet videos. It is also a great place to get the latest uptake in the fashion, business, and food industry. But sometimes you feel the need to keep a little privacy. Therefore, Instagram gives you the option to block anyone you do not want from viewing your posts and stories. With the help of only a few taps, you can easily show people what you want them to see.